September 24, 2013

Arizona State Prison Complex – Eyman

Arizona State Prison Complex – Eyman is one of 13 prison facilities operated by the Arizona Department of Corrections (ADC). ASPC-Eyman is located in Florence, Pinal County, Arizona, 63 miles east from the state capital of Phoenix, Arizona. Arizona State Prison Complex – Florence is also in the Florence area.

May 3, 1991 and Governor Fife Symington provided an opening address officially opening ASPC-Eyman. In addition, ASPC-Eyman/Rynning Unit also officially opened. The complex was named after Frank Eyman who was a Warden at Florence. The Meadows Unit was named after Della Meadows who worked 35 years as the Wardens’ secretary during her tenure with the Arizona Department of Corrections. Special Management Unit II (SMU II) was renamed Browning Unit on June 2, 2008 after Army Staff Sgt. Charles R. Browning who died serving in Afghanistan and worked at SMU II.

ASPC-Eyman has an inmate capacity of approximately 4,544 in 8 housing units at security levels 3, 4 and 5. The ADC uses a score classification system to assess inmates appropriate custody and security level placement. The scores range from 1 to 5 with 5 being the highest risk or need. ASPC-Eyman is a modern, medium to high security prison.

Browning Unit contains Arizona’s Death Row.

ASPC Unit Custody Level
Cook 3
Meadows 3
Rynning 4
Browning 5
Browning Minors 5
Browning Mental Health 5